Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Royal Trux - Royal Trux (1988)

I love this album. I'm a fan of most output from New York's "Heroin Chic" poster band, but this has to be my favourite. It's noisey, SURPRISE!, and full of great guitar jams, crunchy yelps and howls, and all sorts of goodness. It kind of reminds me of Jandek or Beat Happening or something else as equally uncomparable, specifically in the way the instruments are played and recorded. I just got a vinyl reissue of this and it has reminded me just how fucking rad these guys are. If you're not familiar with Royal Trux then start here! Please!

""Royal Trux" is the debut album by Royal Trux. It was released as an LP in 1988 by Royal Records, then reissued on CD by Drag City in 1993." -

1. Zero Dok – 2:38
2. Esso Dame – 2:26
3. Cold Dust – 1:39
4. The Set-Up – 2:20
5. Hashish – 2:06
6. Sice I Bones – 3:23
7. Hawk'n Around – 3:14
8. Sanction Smith – 1:42
9. Andersonville – 5:53
10. Jesse James – 3:52
11. Walking Machine – 3:00
12. Bits and Spurs – 5:02
13. Strawberry Soda – 2:42
14. Touch – 2:34



Gopal said...

I think this one is my favorite too. I've never heard anything else quite like before or since. The song I'm most enamored of these days is probably "the set up".

Anonymous said...

Anonymous said...

RTX Singles/Live/Unreleased
Part 1
Part 2

Dead Dog said...

wicked thanks!

angular said...

Thanks tons for this — any chance for a reup of Singles, Live, Unreleased?